Back-to-Back for Stewy Mac!

Stewart McSweyn has claimed his second Australian 10000m titles, winning the Zatopek:10 and becoming the first person to win back to back titles since Steve Moneghetti ended his reign in 1992. 

Taking a massive 15 seconds off his previous best of 28:05.37 to break the 28 minute mark, Stewy crossed the line in 27:50.89 to claim his first national title of the season, with fellow MTC member Jack Rayner second (28:12.07) with Queensland’s Jack Bruce third (28:49.70).

In other events on the program, Harvey Chilcott finished just outside of his personal best in the U20 3000m, finishing 10th in 8:31.67 to set himself up well for the rest of the season. Jordy Tyler finished 15th in a tactical 1500m event which was taken out Burnie Mile winner Matt Ramsden.

It was a good night all round for the Tasmanian athletes with two All Time Best performances recorded. Jacob Despard (OVA) took out the 100 yards in 9.75 to place himself atop the Tas All Time Rankings and Mathew Hosie (ES) set a new State Record of 4.90m in the Pole Vault. Todd Hodgetts (NA) got his 18/19 season off to a great start, throwing a huge 14.92m in the Men’s Open Shot Put, with Ruby Smee (SB) running a personal best in the U20 3000m of 9:49.13.


Well done all.